The Versatile Blogger Award

Before nominating Wuppenif (and 17 other bloggers), The Belmont Rooster was kind enough to ask me whether I wanted the nomination. I must admit to being shy of these things, but I thought I should have a go if he was willing, and so here we are.

I first came across the The Belmont Rooster earlier this year, and I have enjoyed enormously getting to know his world through his posts. There is a wonderful sense of humour as well as a sense of wonder in everything that he writes that I find very refreshing. I almost always find myself smiling when I read one of his posts, and the fact that we’re both homesteading / farming creates a kind of bond. And so I must say a big thank you to The Belmont Rooser for the great reading first and foremost!

So, the rules, the darned rules – let’s start there, shall we:

Versatile Blogger Award Rules

1. Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
2. Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.
3. Select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. (I would add, pick blogs or bloggers that are excellent!)
4. Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to this site.
5. Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

If I get into trouble anywhere, it will be with the numbers. I see that The Belmont Rooster outdid himself with nominating 18 bloggers, going above and beyond the stated 15. I’m afraid that my reading of fellow bloggers has been down in recent months due to a pretty crazy work/life schedule, but I certainly have my favourites and I’ll certainly dish.

Adventures in Natural Beekeeping
Dark Creek Farm
From the Bartolini Kitchens
Growing Up in the Garden
The New Home Economics
One Equals Two
Promenade Plantings
Practicing Resurrection
Sailor’s Small Farm
Uberdish

Finally, A Kid’s World by Petkid, my son, is definitely worth a peek – he’s posted about everything from his dog, to gardening and Roman history, and I think that makes him truly versatile!

My 7 Things
I have to agree with The Belmont Rooster that coming up with seven random things about yourself, as opposed to answering specific questions is challenging, but it does mean you don’t have to answer questions that you may cause you to draw a blank. Yes, I tend to find the upside in everything.

1. Having a woodstove has made me soft; it’s 20 degrees celsius in my house as I write, and I’m feeling a little chilly. Ridiculous.

2. When I was a young girl delivering newspapers after school I was surprised to receive a Christmas tip from one customer of a jar of honey. I wish I knew then how much I would grow to value something like locally produced honey. I wish I could go back and properly thank that person!

3. One of my favourite parts of the day is feeding our chickens, even if I spend part of the time begrudging the fact that it’s cold/windy/rainy/snowy. They are such hardy things and always make me feel like the most amazing person on earth for feeding them. (It thrills me hugely when they come racing over when I arrive home from a meeting or running errands, clearly asking for more food.)

4. I’m not as thrifty or eco-friendly as you might expect from reading this blog, but I’m (almost) always working on it.

5. I wish sugar wasn’t so darned bad for us.

6. It boggles my mind that I once spent the better part of a Sunday reading newspapers (All that ephemeral information, gone! All those ‘free’ hours pre-children!).

7. If I’m going to have ice cream (which I rarely do), I’m going to have the works, chocolate sauce and all.

Okay, well, I hope you’ll check out the great bloggers I nominated, and that those who can will have fun creating their own responses.

18 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Thank you very much, wuppenif, for this award nomination! You have made my evening! I enjoyed reading your 7 things and had a little giggle with #1. (I was pumping gas in my van today and realized that I am going to be in big big trouble this winter. I was literally freezing-to-death in my winter jacket and it was only minus 1! The winter may be a long one for me.) Looking forward to checking out the other great blogs you nominated. 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for the nomination df! I’m not sure I’ll come up with 15 myself, but will tackle it in a spare moment…I have about as many as you, I suspect. I completely relate to your #4…me in a nutshell.
    Out here on the balmy West Coast, we were complaining today about our plus 4 temps :)…it’s damp, it gets into the bones, OK?

    1. My pleasure! That 15 is hard for some of us, but I think that acknowledging the bloggers you really enjoy is what really has to count. So glad to hear it’s not just me who struggles with #4 – it feels lonely when you think you could always do better! Having lived for a number of years in England, I can attest to that kind of damp cold as being legit, so I’ll give you that!! I’m currently very guilty of that most Canadian attitude of ‘well, at least we don’t have two feet of snow yet, like they do out west!’

  3. Congratulations on receiving this award. I’m sure there will be more to come in your future. I’d hardly consider you a “wimp” when it comes to cold temperatures. Ever been to LA? People there put on furs when the temperature hits 50˚ (10˚ C) and swear it’s too cold. 🙂
    Thanks for honoring me with a nomination. Considering the company with which you placed me, I’m doubly honored, 🙂

    1. Thanks John. And to know you don’t see me as a wimp is great! I do forget to remind myself that the transition between seasons is actually difficult. We have huge temperature swings easily of minus 30 celsius to that high above zero, and it is a shock to the system each year to go from hot weather to very cold. I haven’t been to LA, but what a great image! 🙂 Thanks for coming by, it’s always a pleasure.

  4. Thanks for the nomination. Glad you enjoy the blog. 🙂 I see some of my favorites on your list too.

    I like feeding chickens too. Especially these days as we havea chick who has acquired the habit of jumping up into my hand. She insists that I carry her around a while. I think she just likes showing off in front of her peers.

    1. Thank you Bill. We invariably share some favourite bloggers, and I love that. I’m so envious of your hand-held chick, how nice is that! We’re still so new at tending chickens and we didn’t try early enough to get them used to us touching them, and so they are pretty much hands-off. Now, we also have budgies, and one of them has just managed to have her fifth baby in captivity (a miracle in itself), so if we want to do any hand-rearing, that looks like the chance to take!

  5. Thanks so, so much for my nomination, and congratulations on your much-deserved one too. Yours is one of my favourite blogs, so I’m honoured by the shout-out!
    Looking forward to checking out your other nominee’s blogs, although there are a couple that are already favourites of mine too! Loved your 7 revealing facts, and can especially relate to numbers 6 and 7 – how I would love to combine the two. Pinterest has become my ephemeral browsing pleasure nowadays, not that I ever get to spend hours on it like those entire Sundays with the newspapers, many many years ago. *sigh*

    1. You are so welcome, Sas, and thank you for the kind words. You made my day! Yes, combining indulgent day-long reading with ice cream sounds like something I should aspire to bring together as well. Sounds like a distant holiday plan, but we could do worse! (I did have a chance to check out your Pinterest page recently and I’m amazed at the wonderful things you manage to unearth on the internet. I haven’t made it there, though I’ve checked out where some of my pictures have been pinned. My favourite is a guy who is clearly well prepared for armaggedon who has one of my cast iron pots pinned!)

  6. Ah ha! This is where I was supposed to post my thank you! I finally found a few minutes to write my 7 things and nominations post (though, like you, I didn’t quite make it to 15 – not because of a shortage of worthy blogs, I hasten to add, but because of a shortage of remaining strength to sort and cut and paste and … well, you know… ) Thank you so much for the nomination – I have been enjoying your blog immensely!
    Here’s the link to the post: http://darkcreekfarm.com/2013/12/01/versatile-blogger-award/

  7. Love reading these random facts! : )

    I think being eco is always a work in progress and one of the big things I find is forgiving myself when I can’t be.

    For me it’s sugar and fried food – why does it have to taste so good???

    1. I like your term ‘work in progress’, I think it’s so very apt and it’s making me feel a little better 🙂 Oh, sugar and fried food, don’t I know it!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts

