A tasty break

citrus cornbread muffins

With no time to spare for this little corner of mine at the moment, I thought I should at least take a moment to say as much, and to point you to some delicious recipes from other blogging friends and favourites. These citrus cornbread muffins were completely inspired by this Polenta Cake with Citrus from Mama’s Gotta Bake. Yum!

Four recipes inspired by one ratatouille sounds like heaven to me. I haven’t had time to tell Saskia over at 1 = 2 how awesome these recipes look, or to thank her yet again for just how darned resourceful and creative she is, but maybe you will after checking out her post The lovin’ spoonful (4 ways with ratatouille). I’m just happy that I can still spell ratatouille at this time of the day.

I’m trawling around for inspiration with crookneck squash, carrots and crab apples, all of which we have in abundance, if anyone feels like sharing. After our weird summer spent watching and waiting for ripe tomatoes, we’ve had a nice little harvest, followed by a much bigger one of green tomatoes. That will do just fine as we love green tomato chutney, but of course now I need to make it. Building myself up – encouragement welcome!

In the meantime, I’ve just found this post about Lamb with Fat Roasted Carrots and Mashed Parsnips on Cured by Bacon and think I’ll just stop right there. Sigh.

6 thoughts on “A tasty break

  1. Aw df thanks SO much for your support, and for the lovely shout out! You are too kind.
    God those muffins look gorgeous – I can almost taste them. I imagine they were lovely and moist with the applesauce inclusion. I’m dying to know what a crookneck squash looks like, although i think I can picture it! Looking forward to seeing what you rustle up with those.

    1. It’s a pleasure, Sas, you and your blog deserve the kudos! Oh, those muffins are really good, and moist in the way you’d expect. When we’re feeling decadent they have been known to appear at breakfast with scrambled eggs. I’ll definitely plan to post some pictures of crookneck squash – lots of fun, and very tasty. It’s a summer squash rather than a big keeper.

I'd love to hear your thoughts

