Sweet treat: coconut macaroons

Late in the evening is usually when my husband and I have time to sit down with our teenager, just the three of us. There are other windows in the day, but none as quiet or relaxing as this time.

Often we’re in the mood for a little treat, and I love these coconut macaroons as they are small (so we won’t be overdoing it), incredibly easy and fast. With dessicated coconut being a good source of healthy saturated fat as well as dietary fibre, I can even feel a little good about serving these. You can read more about the health benefits of dessicated coconut here.

coconut macaroons dipped in chocolate

Of course, these can easily be nudged into decadent territory with a quick dip in a bit of melted chocolate.

I’ve found recipes for macaroons across the internet and no longer have a single source to point back to for this recipe, though most recipes are extremely similar to this one.

unbaked coconut macaroons

Coconut macaroons (makes 9 or 10)

Ingredients
1 1/3 cup unsweetened dessicated coconut
1/3 cup sugar
1 – 2 tbsp unbleached flour
2 egg whites
3/4 tsp vanilla

Method

Step 1 – mix dry ingredients in a small bowl

Step 2 – combine vanilla with egg whites

Step 3 – gently combine wet and dry ingredients

Step 4 – form into small rounds and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper; bake for 12 to 15 minutes at 325 degrees F

Step 5 – melt chocolate and partially dip macaroons (once cooled slightly) – OPTIONAL

baked coconut macaroons

These are a great size for tucking into lunches or to take on a hike or ski outing. We just got almost a foot of fresh snow a couple of days ago, so maybe we’ll take some snowshoeing.

10 thoughts on “Sweet treat: coconut macaroons

  1. My husband’s favourite cookie! His Mum adored coconut, and made them for her brood when they were growing up – I believe she used condensed milk, which would definitely put them in the decadent category. Dipping them in chocolate is a brilliant idea.

    1. Oh yes, condensed milk would make these extremely decadent, although you wouldn’t need a lot as the recipe takes so little liquid. This is a pretty nice favourite cookie to have!

  2. OMG I totally LOVE macaroons! I always thought they had much more sugar in them. Perhaps I can convince myself that they’re “healthy” now! You may have ruined me for life! 🙂

    1. I know, the relatively small amount of sugar and total lack of butter makes me feel this is a reasonably virtuous treat. My apologies for corrupting you!

  3. LOVE macaroons, and have actually never made them. Will definitely bookmark this. The recipe sounds fab/easy, and I’m always up for a bit of nudging into decadent territory!
    Secretly love that special time with my eldest too. We occasionally have a ‘Mummy/Louis day’ where we embark on a ‘more mature’* (his words) outing together.
    * He is 8!

    1. I can absolutely vouch for how extremely simple this recipe is; I’ve been known to start making these nearly 10pm (when my energy levels are low) and we’re eating them in the half-hour. My teenager always makes me feel like the best mother in the world for making them too, which is nice! (His default is to make chocolate treats, like brownies, so I like reminding him that there are other wonderful flavours!) One-to-one time with your boys is really special and so worth doing, isn’t it.

  4. Isn’t it amazing how many Cocoanut Macaroon recipes there are? Mine is quite different and includes cocoa and rolled oats. I like to say that ‘they are a meal in themselves with dairy, fruit, cereal, protein’ lol!

I'd love to hear your thoughts

