No, my dog doesn’t have a moustache

Black lab puppy and young boy

I love it when blogging bleeds into real life even more than usual. This morning my youngest and I spent a few minutes together reading 7 Things I Wish I Knew Before I Bought the Puppy over at The Scrumptious Pumpkin. He was instantly attracted when he saw adorable Calvin in my reader.

We spent those minutes nodding along and laughing, having been through much the same journey ourselves with Reggie, our seven-month old black labrador retriever.

My son also decided that perhaps I hadn’t posted any photos on my blog that really show just how unbelievably cute and wonderful Reggie is. This boy deals in superlatives, and is constantly applying them to his dog. Reggie also enjoys the over-the-top nicknames bestowed on him by this nine-year old, such as “The Puffle-ator” (which is a play on the original “Sweet Puff”).

Granted, Reggie is capable of being pretty adorable, and was even more so when he was little.

Reggie, our 12 week old black lab

But I’d contend that he wasn’t at his most photogenic when youngest son insisted on the mini photo shoot that resulted in the photo at the top of this post.

Dear Reggie spent much of yesterday in thrall with a new rawhide bone that resulted in a creamy moustache above his nose and two white streaks down the front of his legs. I only noticed these enhancements to his visage when I walked him to school to meet youngest son yesterday afternoon, and had to laugh. Reggie was thrilled to have proved just how obsessive a lab can be about chewing, and the signs of this obsession had almost nearly rubbed off in time for his close-up this morning. Almost.

***

With thanks to The Scrumptious Pumpkin for the inspiration for this post!

6 thoughts on “No, my dog doesn’t have a moustache

  1. Love your photos and I love the name “Puffle-ator”! It sounds like a great title for an exciting storybook. If you ever come across the book, “7 Things I Wish I Knew Before I Bought the Bunny” please let me know! 😉

    1. Thanks Angela! I like your thinking with the story title – you may be on to something there. Will definitely let you know if I see that article on bunnies!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts

