Reader Appreciation Award

Reader Appreciation Award

I’m ever so glad that I’m not alone in being slow in acknowledging and passing along the praise through something like the Reader Appreciation Award. I was surprised and pleased to get a nod from Eleenie at Denobears, who has a lovely and quirky taken on life, last month, and am only now getting around to properly giving this its due. Eleenie’s posts on life as an ex-pat in Bulgaria, her beautiful dogs, her garden, and a variety of other topics are down to earth and refreshing.

The rules for receiving this award

Just so I don’t miss anything out:

1. Provide a link and thank the blogger who nominated you for this award.

2. Answer 10 questions.

3. Nominate 10-12 blogs that you find a joy to read.

4. Provide links to these nominated blogs and kindly let the recipients know that they have been nominated.

5. Include the award logo within your blog post.

My Q&A

Your favourite colour? Oddly enough it’s red, as I’m very shy and retiring.
Your favourite animal? I have neither fact nor fiction to resort to here, I just don’t have one, nor could I begin to choose. I guess I’d love to know I could regrow a limb just like a starfish. Does that count?
Your favourite non-alcoholic drink? Lemon water, which I sometimes seriously crave.
Facebook or Twitter? Neither.
Your favourite pattern? Getting up every morning to start a new day.
Do you prefer getting or giving presents? Giving, but I’m totally open to getting them too!
Your favourite number? Four
Your favourite day of the week? The one when I feel caught up on things, which seems to happen about once every four years or so.
Your favourite flower? The ones picked by my children when they were small. You didn’t think I could honestly say anything else?
What is your passion? Trying to figure it all out.

My nominees

All of the nominees are blogs that I love to read regularly (and it was hard to choose, as I have other favourites too, whose owners hopefully know how much I love them!):


The Slow Foods Mama
– great thinking on food

Writing for Daisies – brilliant writing, hands down


The Museum of Forgotten Pickles
– wonderful kitchen stories, and an awesome blog name

Sailors Small Farm – thoughtful stuff on food and living sustainably


Promenade Plantings
– a blog for anyone who loves gardens and spending time in them

Hands, Heart, Passion – creative, earthy and full of chickens


Domesteading
– a neat take on homesteading in rural California

Ekostories (author Isaac is on hiatus, but he’s rerunning some of his best content for six weeks) – wonderful stories that always weave in the natural world

Earthstonestation – history, nature, and a great frontier focus

Green Pocket Protector – great recipes, some homesteading and bacon, lots of bacon

The Food Fighters – food, politics and a family trying to eat well on a budget

All are recommended reads.

14 thoughts on “Reader Appreciation Award

    1. Can’t imagine a list without you guys on it! And how nice is it to have readers who can just guess correctly at things like a favourite colour! Reggie has chewed the ribbon off my favourite hat that you’ve always been so fond of, so I’m having to do some repairs and consider what statement I might make with a new ribbon.

      1. Reggie ate part of your hat!? Fortunately, it was just the ribbon, and (hopefully) easily repaired. Just think, you can now have different colored ribbons for each season. Yes, we guessed that red was your favorite color, because you have nicely worked the color into various areas of your home, which is reflected in the pictures you post to your blog. We have a lot of red at our house too, as it was Dave’s mom’s favorite color when she owned this home.

      2. Yes, thankfully just the ribbon, and I love your suggestion of seasonal colours! Great way to keep a much loved hat going. Red is one of those great life-giving colours, isn’t it – hope you enjoy the touches that Dave’s mom left behind.

    1. You are most welcome – it’s well deserved! I think I have to convince myself to have a day like that at least once every half decade, or I’d go crazy 🙂

  1. Thanks so much for the shout-out! I love your blog and would include you on my own recommended list, but then that would send the award right back to you I guess, which might be annoying…

    1. You are so welcome, I really do get a great kick out of following your blog. And now I’m feeling all warm and fuzzy after your lovely comment. Thanks for not getting us all stuck in a loop though!!

  2. Thanks for the nomination–that’s very kind of you. You’ve taught me a lot in a very short time–thanks for that, too. Finally, thanks for the blog recommendations–these are great.
    P.S. I hope you never need to regrow a limb.

    1. It’s been great getting to know you recently, and I am very much enjoying your take on things. Thanks for the limb encouragement – much appreciated!

  3. Thank you! I think the best part of having a blog is getting to know other bloggers and seeing what’s going on in their kitchens and gardens. I love all the great comments from my “blog friends,” so thanks for reading and commenting! And now I have a few new blogs to check out, so thanks for the recommendations!

I'd love to hear your thoughts

