Frosty morning

Frost fringed leaves and grasses

After a hard frost last night, it was a delicately furred world that we ventured into for our morning walk.

Black lab looking out onto a frosty field

Reggie is as game for adventure as I am early in the morning.

Frost fringed grasses and weeds

It never ceases to amaze me how delicate and special the most ordinary plants and things can appear when rimed in frost.

Autumn morning walk with boy and dog

The foliage on trees is somehow more delicate when it softens into yellows and reds.

Canada geese flying overhead in October

Canada Geese flying overhead remind us that we don’t have long until winter creeps in to stay for many months.

10 thoughts on “Frosty morning

    1. I’ve never been to the desert and would love to visit that kind of landscape some day. I do love this time of year where we live, it’s very pretty.

  1. Wow — what a beautiful piece about transition! You’ve captured the essence of the first frost so eloquently, with so few words, but so carefully chosen. I felt cold just looking at your pictures! We haven’t had a hard frost yet, but of course it’s coming. It’s not unheard of for us to have snow on Halloween either — happened just two years ago, actually. Or maybe it was last year, I can’t remember. But I do remember the fire trucks slowly crawling down our street, and I called my son over to see them, as he’d always been so enamored. For the first time, he could have cared less! Oh the growing pains. For me, not him. 🙂 So I’d like to think that was just a year ago, and that he’s still a tiny little boy. But winter does that to you, I guess. Gets you thinking about transitions and the coming of a new year, and all that entails. Thanks for the pre-step into a frost I know will be coming our way soon, your pictures were BEAUTIFUL.

    1. Thank you Melissa, I’m thrilled that my post had such an effect on you. I know you really love this time of year, so that means a lot. Big seasonal changes like these really do bring on reflection, and changes in our children is so noticeable year on year. It’s strange and amazing as you look at your son, still so young, and see how much he has grown. I think we almost see ‘where’ they are growing, as much as how big they seem now. There are certain times when I’m really struck by how much bigger, more mature our youngest seems, and at other times he still seems so young, so vulnerable. Meanwhile, he seems oblivious! It’s a funny see-saw time. Hope you are enjoying your own autumn to the fullest.

I'd love to hear your thoughts

