Triple chip oatmeal cookies

Plate of triple chip oatmeal cookies

I was a bit unsure of what to call these. I’ve had a recipe in my binder of favourites for ever that I pull out whenever I want a good old-fashioned cookie to offer everyone. This recipe is both delicious and hearty and it has elements that make me feel better about giving it to my kids, in that there is some goodness combined with the fat and the sugar!

The original recipe used a combination of white flour, sugars, butter, chocolate chips, nuts and oats. My version substitutes spelt (go, fibre!), cuts the sugar somewhat, keeps the oats and uses three types of chips: semi-sweet chocolate, dark chocolate and butterscotch.

Bowl with ingredients for triple chip oatmeal cookies

Baking sheet in oven with chocolate chip cookie dough

It’s a recipe that’s easy to double or triple to make a larger batch, so I’ll offer the small batch version here:

Triple chip oatmeal cookies
1 cup spelt flour
1 cup oats
3/4 cup unrefined sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 tbs baking powder
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit*. Blend softened butter with sugar until well combined. Add egg and vanilla. Mix together flour, baking powder and cinnamon and incorporate with butter/egg mixture. Pour in oats and chocolate/butterscotch chips. (Optional extras could include nuts or dried coconut.) Spoon large dollops onto a prepared baking sheet (either greased or with parchment paper) and bake for approximiately 15 minutes.

* When I make these in the Esse Ironheart woodstove, I get the temperature to the lower end of ‘Very Hot’.

It’s hard not to love this part of the result too:

teenage-boy-eating-chocolate-chip-cookie

4 thoughts on “Triple chip oatmeal cookies

I'd love to hear your thoughts

