White fish in puff pastry

Puff pastry with haddock and green beans

We eat fish quite regularly and often pair it with potatoes in one form or another; I was getting seriously bored of this pairing recently when I turned to puff pastry. I’ve been having a bit of a fling with puff pastry since the summer, when I started pairing it frequently with berries for a fast and tasty dessert. Part of me kept wondering about the savoury possibilities and then I hit on the idea of a fish and puff pastry combo one evening when I was trawling my cookbooks for ideas.

It was the Aussie chef Bill Granger whose fish pie recipe in Bill’s Basics gave me the start I needed: mixing white fish (haddock, in my case) with fresh ginger and leeks. Here’s what I came up with:

Puff pastry (2 squares of pre-made or from scratch dough)
2 fillets haddock
1 tbs olive oil
2 tbs butter
1 leek
2 tbs fresh ginger, grated
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup white wine
1/4 cup plain yogurt (cream would be a nice substitution)
Freshly ground pepper
1 egg (for glazing)
Sea salt
Optional: handful of green beans

Step 1 – prepare or defrost puff pastry sheets

Step 2 – saute leek, ginger and garlic in olive oil and butter over medium heat until leek becomes gently browned and softened

Step 3 – cut fish into rough pieces and toss into saute pan, stirring quickly to incorporate (add green beans now if using)

Step 4 – add wine and cook down for a minute or two

Step 5 – add yogurt and season with salt and pepper

Step 6 – heap fish mixture into centre of puff pastry sheets on a baking sheet; fold puff pastry around the mixture, brush with beaten egg and sprinkle with course sea salt

Step 7 – bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for approximately 25 minutes

Haddock in puff pastry

15 thoughts on “White fish in puff pastry

    1. I think you need to say that the mixture should be cool before putting into the pastry as I put the mixture in and the pastry melted with the heat from the fish and burst out of the sides. Total disaster

      1. Wow, who would have thought! I make this all the time and never have to cool the mixture first. I wonder if your pastry isn’t as thick perhaps?

    1. Oh, you’ve really hit the nail on the head. My son – who loves, loves this recipe – adores shrimp, so I know he’ll okay that suggestion!

      1. There’s a place I go when I’m on travel at Cape Canaveral, and they make a puff pastry lobster pot pie that is so delicious. I crave that pie, and can’t wait for the next business trip to have some…it’s just lobser, carrots, broccoli, onions, and a cream sauce, very similar to your recipe.

      2. Sounds gorgeous! I hope you find my recipe (perhaps with a lobster addition or substitution) helps with the cravings!

      3. I must tell my youngest that you get to work at Cape Canaveral sometimes; he’ll think that’s so wild. He’s watching everything NASA does (from an 8-year old’s perspective) and keeps asking when the Orion will be ready.

I'd love to hear your thoughts

