Easy-peasy little pots of lemony goodness

Little pots of lemon cream courtesy of Nigel Slater's Real Fast Desserts

You didn’t think I was going to just let that reference to Nigel Slater’s little pots of lemon cream go, now did you? The combination of my camera and stark nighttime lighting means that this photo does not adequately convey the scrumptiousness involved, but I did my best.

This is beyond easy.

Nigel’s recipe calls for four ingredients:
4 tbs good lemon curd
2 tbs thick, Greek-style yogurt
2 tbs creme fraiche
1 tsp finely grated lemon zest

Now, the best lemon curd is homemade and we actually had some on hand, that my son made, recently. It was all gone, however, so I pressed into service a perfectly fine jar from the UK. The better the curd, the better the resulting dessert will be, so it’s worth going for homemade or splashing out on the good stuff.

Creme fraiche is the other tricky ingredient here; higher end shops in Ottawa have started carrying these in the last couple of years, I’m very glad to say, but our here in the country, it’s unknown. (The Brits have such a wide range of dairy products that we just don’t know over here.) Not to worry, I substituted a good, strong plain Balkan yogurt for both the yogurt and creme fraiche, and the resulting pudding was absolutely delicious. So it’s possible just to use plain yogurt for the dairy components here.

Finally, a good lemon is a good lemon and it takes seconds to grate some zest. Mix all the ingredients together, spoon into cups or bowls, and chill for 10 minutes. Done!

Four three of us I doubled the recipe, which would supposedly make four servings. I found our servings a tad on the small side, even with this expansion of the recipe, so if you really like this stuff, double up!

I don’t know a faster dessert, and lemon is a favourite flavour at my house, so this went down really well. Enjoy!

One thought on “Easy-peasy little pots of lemony goodness

I'd love to hear your thoughts

