Wings

Young boy and his flight instructor
July 2010: our son's first flight. Back on the ground after a 40-minute flight which included some time in the airspace above Ottawa's Parliament Buildings. Talk about getting comfortable with letting your kids roam.

My oldest son’s passion for flying isn’t going away and only becomes more real with each passing month, which is why we agreed to his enrolling in ground school this fall. Tomorrow he will be going up in a light aircraft for the third time ever and taking the controls. I’m amazed at how relaxed we are about this, but it’s just right for him.
When other parents look at me like I’m crazy when I tell them what our 13 year old is doing, I remind them that at the controls of a plane there are no friends or peers around to add pressure, unlike when teenagers are learning how to drive or are new at driving a car. That usually switches a light on for most people.

2 thoughts on “Wings

I'd love to hear your thoughts

