Cinnamon buns

cinnamon buns with icing

It’s a weekend with family and friends visiting, so my husband is being pressed into service to make cinnamon buns, a family favourite that he established after first making them earlier this year. My husband’s go-to baking bible is The Bread Baker’s Apprentice by Peter Reinhart, and the cinnamon buns, like the crackers I recently profiled, come from here. So good. We’re also making pizzas tomorrow, so it’s going to be a bready day, but we’re up for it.

Tonight is rice pudding (my all time favourite cookbook recipe is Nigel Slater’s 20-minute stovetop pudding, though Dave at The Piggy Market in Ottawa knows I have a serious soft spot for any rice pudding he makes), made for my mum who is visiting. It’s ready now, so I’m off!

Quick note: the cinnamon buns will not be baked in the woodstove, as they are ‘tricky’.

4 thoughts on “Cinnamon buns

    1. I do feel really blessed about that! He bakes all the bread around here (apart from quickbreads) and is now known for his crackers and cinnamon buns. I’m gradually losing my baking title!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts

