I didn’t know that I had “slow clothing”

Clothes and textiles that end up in landfill instead of being recycled have been on my mind for a long time. I’m a long time second hand (sorry, I think we’re supposed to say “gently used” now) clothing purchaser, both for myself and my children, know how to mend a tear and sew on buttons, and am confounded whenever reminded of the statistic that the average American has nine pairs of jeans in their closet. But, I’m a girl, and I like shoes, and I know I own more shoes than I actually need, for example (though again, probably nothing like what the “average American” (or Canadian, thank you) woman owns.

All this to say, I really enjoyed reading Revisiting Slow Clothing, and thought you might too.

If you’re reading this, would you mind de-lurking for a moment and telling me the age(s) of your favourite/most frequently worn piece(s) of clothing? Really. Yes, you. I’ll be sharing mine next, promise.

7 thoughts on “I didn’t know that I had “slow clothing”

  1. Definitely my black Levi’s jean jacket. From the late eighties. And even though I am fatter now, it still fits me. I just can’t do up the buttons! But I love it, and with the weather as it is, it is getting plenty of use.

  2. That’s the wonderful thing about great old jackets, they are so forgiving! I’m still rummaging around at this end, but my longest standing fave item of clothing (until last year, when I had to finally admit they had died) was a pair of light brown suede slip-ons that fit almost like water shoes (a second skin). They did 17 years of service, not quite as good as your jean jacket!

  3. De-lurking. : ) Great post – I keep hoping that “slow fashion” becomes the catch phrase that slow local food has become.

    In the last couple of years I’ve been trying to get rid of all my “plastic” clothing – anything synthetic or syn. blend. Much of my wardrobe wasn’t very breathable so I don’t have alot of slow clothes. I’m trying to replace pieces that are second-hand, quality or organic or fair trade. Clothes that I will keep for many, many years.

    I do have a pair of lace-up boots that I bought fifteen years ago and some of my mom’s clothes – kilt, sweater dress and leather skirt/vest. Another piece is a wool winter jacket that I wore when I was in high school – my mom had it in a closet and now I’m finding it’s one of my favorite pieces again. : )

    1. Thanks for de-lurking, Kif! Getting away from synthetic clothing is such a good idea, and it does take time. Have you found that you have good options locally for doing this?

      What I love about old or vintage clothing is that these items were usually made better and from sturdy fabrics that you can mend or modify as needed. I bought a beautiful vintage silk patchwork skirt this summer; when a seam between two of the squares of fabric started to come apart (due to rough wear on my part), it was fairly easy to stitch them back together. A modern synthetic version would have shredded at the first sign of a tear.

  4. not as many options as I’d like and I found it hard to balance the social vs local vs organic/eco vs affordable desires. most have been ordered online as I didn’t find reasonable costs for basics here – pullover, basic sweater, uw, short sleeve tops, etc. Arbour (on bank) would be best for basics but they just don’t have a big selection. Other shops like Green Tree or Dalhousie North shops are a little more styled – as you mentioned – great pieces but more like those “special items”. there are some great local Ottawa etsy clothing designers. am looking more at their offerings now!

    I so agree about the quality. It makes me want to hire a tailor and just get pieces handmade here!

I'd love to hear your thoughts

